Muni teams progress in the Birmingham League - The Solihull Observer

Muni teams progress in the Birmingham League

Solihull Editorial 28th May, 2014 Updated: 21st Oct, 2016   0

BOWLING:SOLIHULL Municipal Bowls Club enjoyed the fourth round of the Birmingham League season, as their A,B and C teams all won.

The A team won 6–0 at Brick Kiln Lane, over Kings Heath B, with John Herbert, Captain John Bentien, Nigel Walker and skip Grahame Spiby winning 20–9 and Rob Wilson, Roger Smith, Mick Keiths and skip Phil Holmes who won 16–15.

Sherwood Park A took another six points to strengthen their position as favourites to win Division 1, while Bournville A also won 6–0 to continue their rise up the league table.

In Division two, Blossomfield A continue to head the table from Rowheath, with Muni B moving into third place, with a 4–2 victory away at Bournville B, thanks to a brilliant 24–15 win from Brian Nock, John Hanmore, Bryan Jones and Gary Langford.

The Muni C Team also won 4–2 at home to Blossomfield B with Roy Sheridan, Bill Preston, Bob Saunders and skip George Carmichael pulling off a magnificent 17–10 win.

The Muni’s John Herbert, Dennis Lee and Norman Stephens, together with George Morrison from Kings Heath were selected to play for Midland Counties Indoor Bowling Association at Wolvey, and pulled off a great victory by four shots.

In the Warwickshire County Mens Unbadged Singles, Solihull Muni’s Robert Wilson Beat Paul Hughes from Sherwood Park 21 – 7, and Norman Stephens beat Chris Jenkins from West Midlands Police 21–19.

In the third round, the Muni men were drawn against each other and it was Rob Wilson who goes through to the County Finals with a 21–19 verdict. Stephens was delighted that Rob, who he had introduced to bowls last season, had given his teacher a lesson.

Stephens was also happy that his wife Margaret, who only joined the Muni this year, won her County Four Woods Singles against Wellesbourne’s Margaret Baldy, by the closest of margins 21–20.

THE previous week Solihull Municipal Bowls Club ’A’ retained their unbeaten record, in the third round of the Birmingham league, but dropped their first point in a 5-1 victory away to Erdington Court ‘B’.

Muni’s Rob Wilson, Roger Smith, Mick Keiths and skip Phil Holmes, were behind early on but finished strongly to win by 26 shots to 15. The visitors second rink were ten shots down with five ends left, when captain John Bentien called for all out powerplay.

John Herbert, Bryan Jones and skip Grahame Spiby responded magnificently to level the score at 20 v 20 after the final end, to seal the 5 points to 1 success.

Sherwood Park ‘A’ are looking like favourites for the league title after a 6 v 0 win at home to previous leaders Erdington Court ‘B’, but Kings Heath are waiting in the background, in fourth and fifth place.

In Division 2 Muni ‘B’ enjoyed a very close match with Blossomfield ‘B’, going down by one shot overall to give the visitors a 4 v 2 result. Rowheath head the Division 2 table, ahead of Blossomfield ‘A’ and ‘B’.

On the previous Sunday Solihull Muni entertained Birmingham Bowling Association, at Brick Kiln Lane, in the Annual A.J.Cooke Memorial Trophy Match.

The beautiful weather brought out the largest crowd seen at the Muni for many years with over a hundred fans having to watch from outside the green.

Muni Chairman and Captain Geoff Wyatt instructed his bowlers to be kind and sociable with the elite opposition, but BBA President and Captain Brian Rogers’ blood curdling cry for allout powerplay throughout, dominated the match and gave the guests a comfortable victory.

BBA leading scorers were Paul Brown, Roy Kenyon and Hughie Donachie on Rink 4 and David Carr, Bob Alcock and Graham Baker on Rink 2.

Public Notices

View and download all of the public notices in the Solihull Observer.

Buy Photos

Buy photos online from the Solihull Observer newspaper.

Reader Travel

Check out all of the latest reader travel offers to get your hands on some free gifts.


Advertise with the Solihull Observer to reach your audience