27th Sep, 2020

Moors draw Cards in National League season opener

Ben Tyler 8th Sep, 2020

A TRIP to Woking’s Laithwaite Community Stadium is on the horizon for Jimmy Shan’s men after Solihull Moors discovered their first opponents for the season opener on Saturday, October 3.

Now former Moors forward Paul McCallum, right, in action in Solihull’s 2-0 defeat at Woking in the last meeting between the sides. Picture by Tom King.

The Cardinals, managed by Alan Dowson, finished tenth in the National League last term based on the points-per-game agenda, and were 2-0 winners last time the sides met in August last year.

Consecutive home fixtures then follow immediately after the first game, with a midweek clash with Wrexham on Tuesday, October 6 and King’s Lynn Town on Saturday, October 10 issuing a long-awaited return for competitive football at the SportNation.bet Stadium.

As far as the festive fixtures are concerned, Moors fans will have home comforts on Boxing Day against Chesterfield, followed by trips to Macclesfield (December 28) – now managed by former boss Tim Flowers – and the reverse game with the Spireites (January 2).

Moors will finish the campaign at home to Eastleigh on Saturday, May 29, at which point they will hope to have made a good enough case for a promotion bid.

Fixtures are in full:

Saturday 3rd October: Woking (A)

Tuesday 6th October: Wrexham (H)

Saturday 10th October: King’s Lynn Town (H)

Tuesday 13th October: Altrincham (A)

Saturday 17th October: Boreham Wood (H)

Saturday 24th October: Emirates FA Cup 4Q

Tuesday 27th October: Stockport County (A)

Saturday 31st October: Maidenhead United (A)

Saturday 14th November: FC Halifax Town (H)

Tuesday 17th November: Torquay United (A)

Saturday 21st November: Weymouth (H)

Saturday 28th November: Aldershot Town (A)

Tuesday 1st December: Hartlepool United (H)

Saturday 5th December: Sutton United (A)

Tuesday 8th December: Dover Athletic (A)

Saturday 12th December: Bromley (H)

Saturday 19th December: Buildbase FA Trophy 3

Saturday 26th December: Chesterfield (H)

Monday 28th December: Macclesfield Town (A)

Saturday 2nd January: Chesterfield (A)

Saturday 9th January: Dagenham & Redbridge (H)

Saturday 23rd January: Yeovil Town (A)

Tuesday 26th January: Notts County (H)

Saturday 30th January: Wealdstone (H)

Saturday 6th February: Eastleigh (A)

Tuesday 9th February: Hartlepool United (A)

Saturday 13th February: Barnet (H)

Saturday 20th February: Weymouth (A)

Tuesday 23rd February: Torquay United (H)

Saturday 27th February: Boreham Wood (A)

Saturday 6th March: Maidenhead United (H)

Tuesday 9th March: Stockport County (H)

Saturday 13th March: FC Halifax Town (A)

Tuesday 16th March: Dover Athletic (H)

Saturday 20th March: Bromley (A)

Saturday 27th March: Aldershot Town (H)

Friday 2nd April: Barnet (A)

Monday 5th April: Sutton United (H)

Saturday 10th April: Macclesfield Town (H)

Tuesday 13th April: Notts County (A)

Saturday 17th April: Dagenham & Redbridge (A)

Saturday 24th April: Yeovil Town (H)

Saturday 1st May: Wrexham (A)

Monday 3rd May: Altrincham (H)

Saturday 8th May: King’s Lynn Town (A)

Saturday 15th May: Woking (H)

Saturday 22nd May: Wealdstone (A)

Saturday 29th May: Eastleigh (H)

Online Editions

Catch up on your local news by reading our e-editions on the Solihull Observer.

Book an Advert

Book your newspaper advert with our online advert creation tool.

Announcements

Weddings, Birthdays, Bereavements, Thank you notices, Marriages and more.

Printing

We can provide all of your printing needs at competitive rates.