Voters head to the polls for local elections - The Solihull Observer

Voters head to the polls for local elections

Solihull Editorial 4th May, 2023   0

SILHILLIANS are heading off to the polls today (Thursday) to decide who makes the tough decisions on the borough council.

Voters are being asked to have a say on who will represent their area on the local authority.

People attending will be required to show photo ID before casting their vote under the Elections Act.

Accepted forms of ID include a UK, European Economic Area (EEA) or Commonwealth passport; a UK, EEA or Commonwealth drivers’ licence; and some concessionary travel passes, such as an older person’s bus pass.

Polling stations across the borough are open until 10pm.

The full list of candidates for each ward in Solihull are as follows:


Margaret Brittin – Labour

Kate Jones – Liberal Democrats

Mark Pearson – Green Party

Bob Sleigh – Conservatives


Peter Bulcock – Independent

Ken Hawkins – Conservatives

Joy Linfield – Green Party

McKenzie Uruakpa – Labour

John Wyatt – Liberal Democrats

Castle Bromwich

Emma Chidler – Labour

Leslie Kaye – Conservatives

Srikanth Pathuri – Green Party

Chelmsley Wood

David Bell – Conservatives

Hazel Dawkins – Labour and Cooperative Party

Jane Lamden – Green Party

Jamshid Moori – Liberal Democrats

Dorridge and Hockley Heath

Laura Attwell – Labour

David Godfrey – Liberal Democrats

Alison Holt – Green Party

Andy Mackiewicz – Conservatives


Lisa Holcroft – Labour

James Long – Liberal Democrats

Catherine Price – Conservatives

Kingshurst and Fordbridge

Davis Cole – Conservatives

Joe Cole – Independent

Jackie Moore – Labour

Paul Sultana – Green Party


Mark Amphlett – Green Party

Edward Fitter – Conservatives

Simon Johnson – Labour

Lionel King – Liberal Democrats


Shelia Brookes – Labour and Cooperative Party

Lynsey Fraser-Smith – Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition

Kieth Green – Conservatives

Kathryn Thomas – Liberal Democrats


Cathy Connan – Labour

Frank Dawson – Liberal Democrats

Heather Delaney – Conservatives

Antony Lowe – Green Party


James Bradley – Liberal Democrats

Bob Grinsell – Conservatives

Nick Nick – Independent

Antony Oseland – Labour

Shirley East

Gerard Dufficy – Labour

Akin Kog – Green Party

Gayle Monk – Liberal Democrats

Mark Duncan – Conservatives

Shirley South

Shahin Ashraf – Green Party

Howard Nichols – Conservatives

Shirley Young – Labour

Shirley West

Sarah Alan – Labour

Lachhman Bhambra – Conservatives

Oli Farr – Green Party

Christopher Johnson – Liberal Democrats


Trevor Barker – Green Party

Paul McCabe – Liberal Democrats

Wazma Qais – Conservatives

Nick Stephens – Labour and Cooperative Party

Smith’s Wood

Lydia Turner – Labour

Mark Wilson – Green Party

Sarah Young – Conservatives

St Alphege

Ian English – Labour

Mark Geary – Liberal Democrats

Sardul Marwa – Conservatives

Online Editions

Catch up on your local news by reading our e-editions on the Solihull Observer.

Business Directory

From plumbers, to restaurants, we can provide you with all the info you need.


Receive a weekly update to your inbox by signing up to our weekly newsletter.


Advertise with the Solihull Observer to reach your audience