Voters head to the polls - The Solihull Observer

Voters head to the polls

Solihull Editorial 4th Jul, 2024   0

POLLING stations are open across the borough as Silhillians decide who make the tough decisions.

Voters are being asked to have their say on who will represent them in Parliament in one of three constituencies – Solihull West and Shirley, Meriden and Solihull East and Birmingham Hodge Hill and Solihull North.

People attending will be required to show photo ID before casting their vote under the Elections Act.

Accepted forms of ID include a UK, European Economic Area (EEA) or Commonwealth passport; a UK, EEA or Commonwealth drivers’ licence; and some concessionary travel passes, such as an older person’s bus pass.

Polling stations across the borough are open until 10pm.

The full list of candidates for each constituency are as follows:

Solihull West and Shirley

Ade Adeyemo – Liberal Democrats

Deirdre Fox – Labour

Julian Knight – Independent

Mary Ann McKenna – Reform UK

Max McLoughlin – Green Party

Neil Shastri-Hurst – Conservative

Meriden and Solihull East

Sarah Alan – Labour

Saqib Bhatti – Conservative

Malcom Ian Sedgley – Reform UK

Shesh Sheshabhatter – Green Party

Sunny Virk – Liberal Democrats

Birmingham Hodge Hill and Solihull North

Liam Byrne – Labour

Caroline Clapper – Conservative

Qasim Mohammed Eask – Liberal Democrats

James Giles – Workers Party of Britain

Imran Ali Khan – Green Party

Jamie Pullen – Reform UK


Find a career you'll love with our free career finder website.


We can provide all of your printing needs at competitive rates.

Reader Travel

Check out all of the latest reader travel offers to get your hands on some free gifts.

Public Notices

View and download all of the public notices in the Solihull Observer.