Candidates revealed for Solihull Council elections on May 5 - The Solihull Observer

Candidates revealed for Solihull Council elections on May 5

Solihull Editorial 28th Apr, 2022   0

SILHILLIANS are set to head to the polls next Thursday (May 5)to decide who makes the tough choices at Solihull Council.

Voters are being asked to have a say on who will represent their area on the local authority.

Solihull Council is encouraging voters to wear a mask inside the polling station and bring their own pen or pencil.

There will be masks and sanitiser available at each polling station.

Polling stations will be open from 7am until 10pm on May 5.

The candidates standing in each ward are:


Margaret Brittin – Labour Party

Paul McCabe – Liberal Democrats

Mark Pearson – Green Party

Gail Sleigh – Conservative Party


Richard Holt – Conservative Party

Carol Linfield – Green Party

Jacqueline Sowsber-Moore – Labour Party

Christopher Wyatt – Liberal Democrats

Castle Bromwich

Emma Chidler – Labour Party

Alan Feeney – Conservative Party

Antony Lowe – Green Party

Chelmsley Wood

Hazel Dawkins – Labour and Co-operative Party

Stephen Rymer – Green Party

Steve Temperton – Conservative Party

Dorridge and Hockley Heath

Jon Brittin – Labour Party

Ian Courts – Conservative Party

David Godfrey – Liberal Democrats

Jane Holt – Green Party


Sarah Alan – Labour Party

Leslie Kaye – Conservative Party

Laura McCarthy – Liberal Democrats

Kingshurst and Fordbridge

David Cole – Conservative Party

Bernadette Donnelly – Green Party

Sam Mather – Labour and Co-operative Party


Mark Amphlett – Green Party

Diana Holl-Allen – Conservative Party

Simon Johnson – Labour Party

Kate Jones – Liberal Democrats


Ade Adeyemo – Liberal Democrats

Sheila Brookes – Labour and Co-operative Party

Sardul Marwa – Conservative Party


Andrew Burrow – Conservative Party

Cathy Connan – Labour Party

Sheila Cooper – Green Party


Michael Carthew – Liberal Democrats

Keith Green – Conservative Party

Antony Oseland – Labour Party

Shirley East

John Dufficy – Labour Party

Akin Kog – Green Party

Annette Mackenzie – Conservative Party

Gayle Monk – Liberal Democrats

Shirley South

Andy Hodgson – Independent

Howard Nichols – Conservative Party

Rosemary Worsley – Independent

Shirley Young – Labour Party

Shirley West

Lachhman Bhambra – Conservative Party

Kevin Round – Labour Party

Alison Wilson – Green Party


James Edwardson – Liberal Democrats

Michael Gough – Conservative Party

Nick Stephens – Labour and Co-operative Party

Smith’s Wood

Keith Duggan – Labour Party

Ben Groom – Green Party

Lavanya Madras Purushothaman – Conservative Party

St Alphege

Trevor Barker – Green Party

Frank Dawson – Liberal Democrats

Ian English – Labour Party

Samantha Gethen – Conservative Party

Public Notices

View and download all of the public notices in the Solihull Observer.


Advertise with the Solihull Observer to reach your audience

Business Directory

From plumbers, to restaurants, we can provide you with all the info you need.


Weddings, Birthdays, Bereavements, Thank you notices, Marriages and more.